Cowboy Cookies & the Country Life

 

Cowboy Cookies_-3

I was never raised a country kid, I’m a born and raised Canberran (though many refer to Canberra as just a big country town), but my mum’s side comes from little town a couple hours away called Majors Creek, and I think some of that must be in my blood. I truly feel most at home out on the land.
Being out-of-town, living on a property and only popping into the local town for supplies when needed.. it’s such a simple life. I find my head is clear, and I spend my days so productively. I get my house-work done early, leaving the rest of the day to bake and work on recipes, tend to the gardens, go for a walk with the dogs, brush down the horses, visit the chickens, and pick some fruit and veggies.
We’re lucky where I am in Canberra, you can live on a beautiful large property well out-of-town, but still be within an hour commute to the city. If you are lucky and can afford areas like Bywong, you might find yourself on 50+ acres with only a 25 minute commute down the highway – pretty amazing considering you can live in town 10km from the city and spend well over 25 minutes sitting at traffic lights each morning! It truly is a wonderful place to experience country life before taking the leap and moving somewhere very far out, something I would very much like to do someday…

Cowboy Cookies_-6

I recently suffered somewhat of a mental roadblock – my brain just wasn’t working. I am currently on a holiday if you may from working full-time, and I think I’m just starting to go stir-crazy in Canberra. The open fields and small towns are what really get my brain going. My creativity especially, seemed to float off into outer space, I couldn’t for the life of me dream up anything new, or even anything I felt like eating. My mind was just a blank field of vegemite toast and tea, so I started taking myself on little drives out-of-town. Either to the mountains, or even just nearby towns within an hour of Canberra – something to refresh my mind and invigorate that love in me for being away from the hustle and bustle, enjoying the small stores and little town bakeries, chatting with locals.
And just like that, it’s back and with a roaring vengeance. I suddenly have a head full of recipes to make and create, ideas of photographic work, collaborations, and new projects. For me it helps to make these things for people too, not “just because”, I find having a purpose for the treats gives me motivation to really work on things and get them right because someone is going to be receiving these treats and hopefully enjoying them.

Cowboy Cookies_-4

Making treats for people makes me happy, and if I really like you, you’ll know it from the treats you receive. There is something about making food for people you love, feeding them and caring for them, I don’t know if it’s a european thing I’ve inherited from my german side but I just want to cook and care for people. Hungry? I’ll make you a sandwich. Just got here? Here’s my cookie tin and the tea will be 5 minutes. I like knowing that other people can enjoy these treats I make, and that a cookie may pick up someones afternoon – I know a cookie sure can do that for me!
I created this batch for someone after my head full of ideas was narrowed down to something chunky and nutty. I wanted to make a chunky cookie that wasn’t too sweet, and that was full of nuts and some gobs of dark chocolate. The oats in a cowboy cookie make it somewhat hearty which I love, so after a few tweaks we have this chunky cowboy cookie!

Cowboy Cookies_-8

Enjoy these out on a trail ride, droving, hiking, studying, whatever! They’re a chunky delicious treat for whenever you fancy, no occasion needed!


Cowboy Cookies

Makes 24 Cookies
Prep Time: 20 minutes
Cooking Time: 16 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 1 Cup Rolled Oats
  • 1 Cup Quick Oats
  • 2 Cups All-Purpose Flour
  • 1 Teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Baking Powder
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Sea Salt
  • 3/4 Cup Canola Oil
  • 2/3 Cup White Sugar
  • 1 Cup Brown Sugar, Packed
  • 1/2 Cup Milk
  • 1 Tablespoon Flaxseed, Ground
  • 1 Teaspoon Cinnamon
  • 1 Teaspoon Vanilla Extract
  • 1 Cup Shredded Coconut
  • 1 Cup Dark Chocolate, Roughly Chopped
  • 1/2 Cup Hazelnuts, Lightly roasted
  • 1/2 Cup Peanuts, Roasted and salted

Method:

  1. Pre-heat your oven to 180°c, and line two large cookie sheets with grease-proof paper.
  2. In a medium bowl, combine the flour, oats, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Set aside.
  3. In a large bowl, beat together the oil, sugar, brown sugar, milk, flaxseed, and vanilla. If you have a kitchenaid or similar, chuck the whisk on and use that! Otherwise a hand-beater is fab, or even a fork will do – you’ll just have to beat it real well! You’ll want to emulsify the oil and sugar, the consistency will end up being similar to a caramel, thick and smooth.
  4. Fold in half the flour mix into the wet mix and stir to combine. Add in the remaining flour mix and combine until you have a nice dough.
  5. Fold in your extras – the coconut, chocolate, hazelnuts, and peanuts. You can most definitely get your hands in there if you need to! I certainly did, worked a treat.
  6. Each cookie will be about a 1/4 of cup of dough – I used a cookie scoop to portion my dough, and used two full scoops per cookie! A tablespoon would also be a good measure. Form them into a smooth ball in your hand, then flatten slightly into a disc shape on the cookie sheet.
  7. Bake your cookies for about 16 minutes, or until the edges are just nicely golden. Once cooked, leave to rest on the tray for 5 minutes before transferring to a cooling rack to cool completely.

The cookies will store well in a container for a few days – perfect cookie-jar cookie! And they’re just as good cool as they are warm. Enjoy as is, or with a nice glass of milk always goes down a treat!

– Persephone

Cowboy Cookies_-7Cowboy Cookies_-2

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Hi Persephone (love your name!), these cookies look so delicious and comforting and satisfying. I’ve enjoyed looking around your lovely blog this morning. Your photos are wonderful and your whole attitude to food and recovery and health is inspiring. Food really is love.

    Like

  2. Loving the mix of ingredients in this one. Funny enough I come across peanut butter cookies very often but I don’t see peanuts being use often (most other types of nuts) so I loved that. Your photographs are beautiful and really (and I mean really!) make me want to give this fantastic recipe a go as soon as possible. Can never go wrong with delicious cookies.

    Would you be interested in sharing recipes with our community of passionate foodies? We’re always on the lookout for fun, new and delicious recipes like this one. You can find us right over here: https://www.facebook.com/groups/OnlyGoodEats

    Like

Leave a Reply

